Canara Bank, Reliance 1, DY Patil A and DY Patil B enter semis: 15th DY Patil T20 Cup

A skipper knock of 84 by Bharat Chipli and a inspired spell by pacer MG Naveen (5 for 24) helped Canara Bank beat Mumbai Customs by six wickets in a high-scoring match in the quarter-finals of the 15th DY Patil T20 Cup at the DY Patil University Ground on Thursday. Along with Canara Bank, Reliance One, DY Patil A and DY Patil B also entered the semi-finals.

Mumbai Customs posted 183-8 in their 20 overs thanks to their skipper Sachin Wagh’s 87. In  reply Chipli starred in the chase as Canara chased down the target in 16.4 overs to enter the semi-finals.

In the other quarter-finals, DY Patil A successfully defended a total of 164-5 at the DY Patil Stadium to win by 57 runs against Western Railway. In the other quarter-final at the Stadium, DY Patil B also held CAG at bay to win by 12 runs.

On the other hand DY Patil B led by experienced campaigner Pravin Tambe (3 for 25, one catch and a run–out too) defeated CAG by 12 runs while defending a score of 170. The hosts in fact were provided a solid start of 79 runs in 7.3 overs by their young openers Arjun Tendulkar (35) and Aman Khan (47). Ankit Kaushik scored a fighting unbeaten 77 for CAG after his team lost four early wickets in their run chase. 19 year old all-rounder Arjun Tendulkar, son of the legendary Sachin Tendulkar who latter took one wicket while speaking to Newsband after the quarter final tie, said” It was fun and a new experience playing with the seniors in my first D Y Patil T 20 tournament.  Playing in a familiar position as an opener which I did for Mumbai in various age groups was a morale boosting experience. However I expected more from myself with the willow and hope to improve with my performances in the coming matches with the support of my team mates”.

In the last game of the game, Reliance 1 posted a massive 193-6 in their 20 overs and then bowled out BPCL for 145 to register a 48 run win.

Former champions DY Patil A and DY Patil B will square off in the semi-finals at the DY Patil Stadium, whereas Canara Bank will play Reliance 1 for a place in the final.


At Stadium

DY Patil A 164-5 in 20 overs (Rahul Tewatia 39, Shubham Ranjane 30) bt Western Railway 107 in 18 overs (Nikunj Mohite 25, Asad Pathan 20; Mukesh Choudhary 2-13, Iqbal Abdullah 2-13, Aniket Redkar 2-27)-by 57 runs

DY Patil B 170-8 in 20 overs (Aman Khan 47, Arjun Tendulkar 35, Sarfaraz Khan 33; Ankit Sharma 3-26. Gurinder Singh 2-29) bt CAG 158-6 in 20 overs (Ankit Kaushik 77 n.o., Abhishek Raman 21; Pravin Tambe 3-25)-by 12 runs

At University Ground

Mumbai Customs 183-8 in 20 overs (Sachin Wagh 87, Swapnil Pradhan 48; MG Naveen 5-24) lost to Canara Bank 184-4 in 16.4 overs (Bharat Chipli 84, Pallav Kumar Das 40, KV Siddarth 38 n.o.; Pratik Dabolkar 2-25)-by six wickets

Reliance 1 193-6 in 20 overs (Nikhil Naik 57, Tajinder Dhillon 38 n.o.; Sandeep Sharma 2-29, Parikshit Valsankar 2-29) bt BPCL 145 in 18.4 overs (Shreyas Iyer 44, Aakarshit Gomel 32; Baltej Singh 2-12, Rahul Shukla 2-17, Barinder Sran 2-20, Anukul Roy 2-30)-by 48 runs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About us

Newsband, started in 2005 as In New Bombay, is today Navi Mumbai’s only daily local English newspaper. The paper believes in delivering outstanding journalistic content to its readers about the city of Navi Mumbai and enjoys a readership of about 11,000.